The consequences of heroin use extend beyond addiction and withdraw. A conviction for possession, trafficking and selling heroin in Texas can come with life-changing penalties – from fines to several years behind bars. If police arrested you for a heroin-related offense, then your first call should be to a criminal attorney.
Fortunately, there are several defenses that may apply to your case. If you would like to discuss your options with a Dallas criminal lawyer, then contact the Law Offices of Robert Gregg. Mr. Gregg can help you navigate the legal system and structure an aggressive defense based on the unique facts of your case. Call us today at (214) 891-7536 to schedule a consultation.
Until then, read on to learn the answers to two FAQs about heroin charges in Texas:
- What do federal and state laws say about heroin?
Heroin is a controlled substance that is banned in the United States. If police in any state catch you in possession of heroin, then you will likely face felony charges. Texas is no exception. Those who face charges of trafficking or selling heroin face worse penalties.
However, due to public interest and overcrowded prisons, first-time offenders may be able to enter a court-ordered, state-sponsored drug rehabilitation center, as Rehabs Texas explains. If you are convicted of a first-time possession offense, then you may be able to avoid jail time if you join this program. Unfortunately, repeat offenders and those who face charges for trafficking or selling heroin are not eligible.
- What penalties should you expect if convicted?
Each state has its own sentencing guidelines for heroin crimes. In Texas, you will face third-degree felony charges if police arrest you for possessing less than 4 grams, because this amount is usually for personal use. However, if the amount is greater than 4 grams, then you may face trafficking charges. This is a felony in the first degree.
If police catch you selling heroin, then the charges against you will likely be a second-degree felony. It is a first-degree felony if you were carrying more than 10 grams. Additionally, your sentence will be much harsher if police caught you selling heroin near a children’s facility, such as a school or playground.
Trafficking is the worst heroin-related charge that you can face. The amount you were carrying at the time of your arrest will determine if you face trafficking charges. If police caught you with between 4 and 14 grams, then you may go to jail for three years and face a $50,000 fine.
You could face a $100,000 fine and possibly go to prison for 15 years if police catch you with an amount between 14 and 30 grams. If they catch you with more than 30 grams, then you could spend 25 years behind bars and face a $500,000 fine. When grams become kilograms, a lifetime of incarceration is a possibility with a conviction.
If you are facing any heroin charge in Texas, then it is paramount that you fight the allegations with a strategic, well-planned defense. A Dallas criminal attorney can structure a defense that applies to the specific circumstances of your case. The Law Offices of Robert Gregg is available at (214) 891-7536 to evaluate your charges, guide you through the justice system and protect your interests.